Another Rainy Night (but productive)

Observations
1)The narrower the street is, the faster people drive.
2) They have a Grom’s Gelateria here (reference this Venice post). However it’s expensive and they’re not very liberal with the servings. Plus they have long lines (reminds me of the Soup Nazi). I’m going to stick with the place I found that’s been here for 20 years; cheaper and more generous servings.
3)They have these beggars that ride the trains; they get on at a stop, walk through the cars and pass out pieces of paper that read (“I’m poor, don’t have a home, family, etc. I have two children……”) not sure about the rest but something about wanting/needing money. They pass out the paper, walk through a second time to collect them and take any money. I’ve seen it 3-4 times already. I’m thinking they might do better if it was in English as well as Italian because they would probably do better with the tourists (who can’t read the paper as written currently) than with the locals.
4)Cost of espresso is around 1 Euro (if you drink it at the counter) although today I got a deal at 90 Euro cents.
Images from tonight; rainy again, depressing but makes for interesting subject matter. Talked to the opera singer and made her acquaintance. Unfortunately her permit is expired until the first of October. Am going to try to forward my best images to her however.

Observations

1)The narrower the street is, the faster people drive.

2) They have a Grom’s Gelateria here (reference this Venice post). However it’s expensive and they’re not very liberal generous with the servings. Plus they have long lines (reminds me of the Soup Nazi). I’m going to stick with the place I found that’s been here for 20 years; cheaper and more generous servings.

3)They have these beggars that ride the trains; they get on at a stop, walk through the cars and pass out pieces of paper that read (“I’m poor, don’t have a home, family, etc. I have two children……”) not sure about the rest but something about wanting/needing money. They pass out the paper, walk through a second time to collect them and take any money. I’ve seen it 3-4 times already. I’m thinking they might do better if it was in English as well as Italian because they would probably do better with the tourists (who can’t read the paper as written currently) than with the locals.

4)Cost of espresso is around 1 Euro (if you drink it at the counter) although today I got a deal at 90 Euro cents.

Images from tonight; rainy again, depressing but makes for interesting subject matter. Talked to the opera singer and made her acquaintance. Unfortunately her permit is expired until the first of October. Am going to try to forward my best images to her however.

_DSY4098-Edit-Edit-2

_DSY4035-Edit-Edit-3

This image doesn’t work, in my opinion, but I’m slowly getting closer to what I’m looking for. The person walking through is too blurry and not clear what it is, and the hotel name reflection is too obvious. Am going to keep working the idea; has been no shortage of rain and thus puddles.

_DSY4153

~ by l on September 20, 2009.

One Response to “Another Rainy Night (but productive)”

  1. I like very much your photos, specially the ones of people. Complimenti, Robert! Hopefully you can come to piazza repubblica from thursday, when I got the permit again! Complimenti ancora!

Leave a Reply

 
