Back in Venice

I’m back in Venice to photograph Carnival. Flight over was uneventful. Had an exit row seat which is great if you can get it. Still hard to sleep but at least the legs aren’t cramped.

Venice’s airport doesn’t appear to be much bigger than Lexington’s, at least the parts that I have seen. I cleared immigration in about 2 minutes; there is no customs unless you have something to declare.

This time I caught the bus to the island. Both cheaper (3 vs. 12 euros) plus shorter wait and trip. It drops you off at the Piazzale Roma,which is the last place cars are allowed on the island (the road ends here). Was supposed to catch the vaparetto (water bus) but couldn’t find the stop (in all honesty I didn’t look very hard nor ask anyone). I just started walking. The air was nice and crisp, I had been sitting on a plane for 9+ hours and figured I could use the exercise. It wasn’t a bad walk; didn’t have to use a map as they have random signs spaced about for St. Mark’s Square and the Rialto Bridge. From either of these two places I can find my hotel so I just navigated to St. Mark’s Square; from there it’s 5 minutes to the hotel

After checking in and a quick 2 hour nap, went out to explore and photograph. My workshop doesn’t officially start til Friday, so I’m on my own for a couple of days. Plenty of people in costumes. Not sure what the deal is (I don’t think that most of them are normal festival goers as the costumes are very elaborate); some appear to be models, others had business cards (not sure what for). Way too many tourists taking pictures, some more clueless than others about getting in your shot. Still managed to get a few good shots.

Am going out tonight to explore and see what’s going on. 

Before I left I bought a Navy peacoat; I’m glad I did. It’s very warm and somewhat stylish.

Robert

 

_dsz10521

 

_dsz10991

_dsz11151

 

_dsz11211

_dsz11741

_dsz1182

_dsz1203

~ by l on February 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “Back in Venice”

  1. Rat, I’ll be there in a week for the pub crawl to end all pub crawls. Hope Scott Smith looked you up, I asked them to try to upgrade you to a Business Elite seat, but I’ll try again on the flight home. Looking forward to Fat Tuesday Venice-style, though I don’t think there will be many beads being thrown.
    Spanky

  2. Yeah, it’s not really a bead throwing environment. Much classier than Mardi Gras.

  3. A favor: If you have time, give me the scoop on what gear you’re using and any info (ISO, shutter,etc.) on certain shots..would be helpful and interesting..at least to me! Thx.

Leave a Reply

 
